A Piece of Earth

IMG_4713

When I see a boring backyard it makes my heart hurt.  All too often yards (especially in America)  are giant expanses of grass that, while pretty in their own way, offer no mystery or invitation to explore.  One of my all time favorite books is The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.  There are so many things to love about that book. I won’t spoil it for you on the off chance you’re the one person in the world that hasn’t read it…but if you HAVE read it, you know what I’m talking about.  Gardens give us the opportunity to at once escape and connect, to become more in touch with nature, and to find some peace in a hectic world.  If you have a bit of earth, please do it justice by spending time in it.  Pour a cup of tea and listen to the birds for a while. God put us in a garden to begin with so let’s take full advantage of whatever bit of earth we’re blessed with now.

This picture is of one of my Bleu Magenta roses blooming on our pergola. If you’d like to check out some of what our garden has inspired lately please visit me at highfieldwildrose.etsy.com where my husband and I create tiered trays from vintage, floral china.  New this week is a purple rose tray perfect for teatime in the garden.

Leave a Reply

